



GENERAL INFORMATION

PROGRAMME

15th European Interparliamentary Space Conference (EISC)

14-15 October 2013

Belgian Senate, Brussels, Belgium

Sunday 13 October 2013

Venue : Brussels Town Hall, Salle Gothique, Grand Place, 1000 Brussels

19.00	Walking Dinner hosted by Mr Alain COURTOIS, Senator and First
	Alderman of the City of Brussels

Monday 14 October 2013

<u>Venue</u> : Belgian Senate, Plenary Hall, Place de la Nation 1, 1009 Brussels (Rue de la Loi between numbers 8 en 10)

9.00	Welcome Coffee and registration
10.00	Opening of the 15th EISC
	<i>Chair : Mrs Dominique TILMANS, Chairwoman of the Belgian Space Working Group and Chairwoman of the 15th EISC</i>
	Welcome Address by Mrs Sabine de BETHUNE, Chairwoman of the Belgian Senate
	Opening Address by Mrs Dominique TILMANS, Chairwoman of the Belgian Space Working Group and Chairwoman of the 15th EISC

	Adresses:
	- Mr Philippe COURARD, Belgian Deputy Minister for Science Policy
	- Mr Jean-Jacques DORDAIN, Director General of ESA
	- Mr Vittorio PRODI, Chair of the Sky and Space Intergroup of the European Parliament
	Message from the astronauts aboard the ISS
10.45	Space and Education : How can we enhance the interest of upcoming
	talents and students towards space studies?
	Chair : Mr. Frank DE WINNE, Astronaut, Head of the European Astronaut Centre Department
	Panel Debate with young space scientists and young space professionals from the EISC Member States moderated by Dr Kai-Uwe SCHROGL, Head of the ESA Policies Department
12.15	Announcement of the winner of the EISC-ESA''Space for Sustainability'' Award
	Chair : Polish-Belgian-French Trio Presidency
	Introduction by Mr Jean-François CLERVOY, ESA Astronaut, Chairperson of the Jury
	The Award will be presented by the Polish-Belgian-French Trio Presidency
12.30	Buffet Lunch in the Presidential Reception Rooms of the Belgian Senate
14.00	Prospects and projects for young professionals and students.
	Chair : Senator Lieve MAES, member of the Belgian Space Working Group
	Debate with space industry representatives moderated by Mr Alain RATIER, Director General of EUMETSAT
	Jean-Yves LE GALL, CEO CNESPeter GROGNARD, CEO SEPTENTRIO
	• Marco FUCHS, CEO EUROSPACE and Chairman of the Managing Board of OHB Technology A.G (tbc)

	 Artti HOLLA-MAINI, Secretary General ESOA (tbc) Olivier DUPONT, CEO LAMBDA X (tbc)
15.45	Conclusions
	Conclusions by Mr. Peter HULSROJ, Director of the European Space Policy Institute
16.00	Family Photo
16.15	Visit to the Space Education Exhibition in the Peristyle Entrance Hall of the Belgian Senate
19.00	Departure by bus from the Bloom Hotel to the dinner, with pick-up at the Belgian Senate
19.30	Official Dinner in the Palais d'Egmont, 8bis Place du Petit Sablon/rue des Petits Carmes, 1000 Brussels, hosted by Mr Didier REYNDERS, Belgian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and European Affairs
22.00	Return by bus to the Belgian Senate and the Bloom Hotel

Tuesday 15 October 2013 (for EISC members only)

<u>Venue</u>: Belgian Senate, Plenary Hall, Place de la Nation 1 – 1009 Brussels

10:00	Welcome Address by Mrs Dominique TILMANS, Chairwoman of the Belgian Space Working Group and Chairwoman of the 15th EISC
10:15	Discussion and Adoption of the Resolution Appointment of the 2014 Presidency Final remarks
11:00	Guided Tour of the Belgian Federal Parliament
12:00	Lunch in the Mezzanine Restaurant of the Belgian Federal Parliament
14.00	End of the meeting

VENUE

The Conference will take place on 14-15 October 2013 in the Belgian Senate, Place de la Nation 1 (Rue de la Loi between 8 and 10), 1009 Brussels.

REGISTRATION

Participants are kindly asked to register via the EISC website :

http://www.eisc-europa.eu

The desk to collect the badge will be opened at 9.00 in the Plenary Hall of the Belgian Senate, Place de la Nation 1, 1009 Brussels on Monday 14 October 2013.

All the participants to the meeting shall be provided with an accreditation badge.

CONFERENCE SECRETARIAT

For any information regarding the meeting, please contact :

Belgian Senate Space Group

Thibaut Cardon Belgian Senate Place de la Nation 1 1009 Brussels Tel : +32 2 501 73 50 Fax : +32 2 501 72 16 Email : space@senate.be

ESPI Secretariat

Alexandra Bonnefoy European Space Policy Institute (ESPI) Schwarzenbergplatz 6, A-1030 Wien Tel : +43 1 718 11 18 27 Fax : +43 1 718 11 18 99 Email : office@eisc-europa.eu

ACCOMMODATION

25 single rooms are available for the nights of Sunday 13 and Monday 14 October 2013 in Hotel Bloom, which is located 15 min. by foot from the Federal Parliament and 3 min by tram (tram stop in front of the hotel).

Hotel Bloom Rue Royale 250 1210 Brussels - Belgium T: +32 (0)2 220 66 11 F: +32 (0)2 217 84 44 Website : www.hotelbloom.com

Room rate: €125 single room, city tax and breakfast included. (+ unlimited WIFI access)

<u>To ensure availability of rooms at this preferential rate, rooms should be booked directly with</u> <u>Ms. Annelies Warreyn (BCD Travel) no later than 1 October 2013</u>

BCD Travel Groups Department T: +32 (0)3 200 52 64 F: +32 (0)3 200 50 81 <u>Annelies.Warreyn@bcdtravel.be</u> www.bcdtravel.be

Reservations are to be guaranteed by credit card.

Booking, price and cancellation policy :

Availability of rooms and above mentioned rate are guaranteed only until 1 October 2013. Free cancellation until 1 October 2013. After that, full room payment will be due.

TRANSPORTATION

Please note that the organizers are not providing transportation from/to the airport/train stations or from/to hotels.

The organizers will provide bus transportation from Hotel Bloom and from the Federal Parliament to the Palais d'Egmont and back on Monday, 14 October 2013.

VISAS

You are invited to contact the Belgian Embassy in your country to check whether you need a visa for entry to Belgium.

LANGUAGES

Simultaneous interpretation into English, French, Dutch and German will be provided. If participants wish to bring their own interpreter please contact the Meeting secretariat.

WEATHER

For an updated weather forecast please see: <u>http://www.weather.com</u>

PARTICIPANTS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS

Participants should inform the Conference secretariat in advance of any special needs (e.g. : wheel chair access, dietary requirements,...)

TELEPHONE

The international dialing code for Belgium is +32